July 24, 2009

Manufacturing Dates

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:27 pm by Kristine

Trying to get more information on the 301s, I called Singer to find out the time period the 301 was manufactured. One site said it was produced from the 1930s until the 1960s. According to the woman I spoke with, the 301 and 301A models were produced from 1949 until 1959. I forgot to ask how many were manufactured during that time.

I was thinking it would be fun to gather some info, if no one else has already tried. If you come across this site and own a 301 or 301A, please comments with the following information:
Model
Serial Number
State in which you live
Where/how you acquired your 301/301A

2 Comments »

  1. Raquel said,

    I BOUGHT MY 301A AT A GARAGE SALE FOR 50 DOLLARS 20 SOME YEARS AGO. TODAY I AM LOOKING AT ALL INFORMATION HAVING TO DO WITH THE SEWING MACHINE BECAUSE I WANTED TO USE IT, BUT HAVEN’T BEEN ABLE TO BECAUSE THE BOTTOM STICH BUNCHES UP. I’VE TRIED EVERYTHING, FROM GETTING A NEW NEEDLE TO CLEANING IT, TO ADJUSTING THE BOBBIN SCREW, BUT NOTHING SEEMS TO WORK. I AM FRUSTRATED. DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. I LIVE IN LAKE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA. I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY HELP.

  2. Kristine said,

    Raquel,

    If you take it to a reputable sewing machine shop, they usually have repair service. Do a Google search on “sewing machine lake county, ca”. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

